Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Godowsky Color Awards website/exhibition

Check out the new Godowsky Awards website!

This cycle, these international awards focus on emerging artists and new approaches in color photography. Jennifer Uhrhane and I have worked on this for over a year and were both jurors along with two amazing guests: Bill Ewing and Hannah Frieser. It's my last project at the PRC.

We're thrilled with the site and the show, which I have somehow fit in between school. If you are in the area, join us for the opening Thursday, November 12, 7-8:30pm or check out the exhibition, which runs through January 24th. Many of the artists will be in attendance.


The Leopold Godowsky, Jr. Color Photography Awards honor the co-inventor of Kodachrome film, a man whose contributions have had a major and lasting impact on photography. Established in 1987, the international awards recognize excellence in the field of contemporary color photography and are gathered via nominations from a prestigious, international group of curators, critics, editors, and educators. Over the course of seven award cycles—with the first presented in 1988, and the most recent in 2009—the awards have bolstered the careers of some 30 individual artists representing more than 18 countries.

2009 Leopold Godowsky, Jr. Color Photography
Award recipients:

Claudia Angelmaier (Germany)
Alejandro Chaskielberg
Curtis Mann
Nicholas Kahn and Richard Selesnick

HONORABLE MENTION (online showcase only):
Seung Woo Back (South Korea and UK)

Website designed by Matt Nash

UPDATE: You can check out images of the show and opening reception, including many of the artists, by clicking here.

No comments: